Newby Question: how to link an external CSS file to an app in OnDemand

I am trying to link an external css file to my OnDemand app that I am developing. I am not sure what the best practice is as to where to store this file and how to link it to the view.html file.
I am brand new to the OOD community, so apologies if this is a dumb question. I work on the Tufts OOD website, and am working on making apps like quotareport display nicely on a web page. It works now but it is spaghetti code that was done as a proof of concept. Trying to find out how to do things legititimately, such as having an external CSS file instead of putting all the styling rules in a <style> tag.

Where I am at:
I have the css file stored in quotareport/styles, a directory I made. But when I link that file in the views.html file for quotareport, I get the following error:
Refused to apply style from 'https://ondemand.cluster.tufts.edu/pun/dev/quotareport/styles/quotareport_styles.css' because its MIME type ('text/html') is not a supported stylesheet MIME type, and strict MIME checking is enabled.

1 Like

So you have a separate css file that is included with your app and you want to embed it?

Here is an example in Ruby:

and corresponding files that are referenced: https://github.com/OSC/ood-example-ps/tree/c912ca87cc563be55cbf5d1bc896fd3bd7718f9d/public

Whether its Ruby, Python, or NodeJS the concepts are the same:

NGINX will serve the files directly that are in the public directory in your app. The URL of these assets will be after the base uri of your app, so if your app’s base uri is /pun/dev/quotareport and you place your css under public/styles/quotareport_styles.css then /pun/dev/quotareport/styles/quotareport_styles.css should be retrieved.